top of page

Instant Pot Spanish Brown Rice

My first Instant Pot recipe was a success! I’ve gotta admit, I was pretty intimidated when I unboxed it. So many buttons, so many instructions, so many warnings. I found a simple recipe for rice online and adjusted it to fit what I wanted. And it turned out great! It was so nice not having to constantly watch my boiling pot of rice and having 20% of it stick and burn to the bottom...Definitely excited to make more recipes in this thing!

 

Instant Pot Spanish Brown Rice

🔪 Prep Time: 15 minutes

🍳Cook Time: 35 minutes

🕒Total Time: 50 minutes

🍴Serving Size: 8


Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup Brown Rice

  • 1/2 cup Lentils

  • 1/2 Yellow Onion, diced

  • 4 cloves Garlic, minced

  • 1/4 cup Frozen Corn

  • 1/4 cup Frozen Peas

  • 14.5 oz can Diced Tomatoes

  • 2 cups Vegetable Broth

  • Spices - Cumin, Chili Powder, Cayenne, Salt and Pepper

Instructions:

  1. Prep your veggies. Clean your rice and lentils by massaging with your hands in water. Rinse and repeat until water isn’t foggy (3-4 times).

  2. Set your Instant Pot to ‘Sauté’ mode, add some EVOO and cook your onion, garlic, and dry rice for 2 minutes. Hit ‘Cancel’ to stop the cooking.

  3. Then add in all your remaining ingredients. Carefully close the lid and ensure the steam release valve is turned to ‘Sealing’. Set to ‘Pressure Cook’ on High for 24 minutes.

  4. Once the time is up, do a 10-Minute Natural Release by switching to ‘Keep Warm’ and counting up to 10 minutes.

  5. Finally, use a towel or spatula to carefully turn the steam release valve to ‘Venting’. Once the metal piece next to it drops back down, the lid is safe to open.

  6. Use a fork to fluff up your rice and serve!

Notes & Tips:

This recipe can easily be made on a stovetop! Use a 1:2 ratio for rice:water/broth and cook until liquid has evaporated. You will just have to watch over it and stir it every few minutes to ensure the rice doesn't stick to the bottom.


Video Tutorial:

 

Save this recipe to your Pinterest Board and share it with your family and friends!


138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ABOUT ME

IMG_9641.jpeg

My name is Ritisha Gupta aka Tisha's Veggie Eats! I'm 25 years old and currently live in Houston, TX. I am a full-time Digital Designer and a part-time food blogger. I started my food blog on Instagram as a way to showcase healthy living & share my delicious meals. Read more...

SUBSCRIBE!

Thanks for subscribing!

INSTAGRAM FEED

@TishasVeggieEats

bottom of page